Menu Close

Edison High School

Located in Richmond, Ohio, Edison High School houses students from 7th-12th grade.

 Edison High School

9890 OH-152, Richmond, OH 43944

Principal - Matt Morrison

Mr. Matt Morrison, Principal of grades 7-12, has been with Edison Local Schools for fifteen years. He holds  degrees from West Liberty University and Franciscan University.  His primary responsibilities include developing and implementing policies, programs, curriculum activities, and budgets for the junior high and high school students and staff.  Matt enjoys watching Edison’s students grow and reach their full potential over their years in the district. He can be contacted at matt.morrison@edisonwildcats.org or 740-282-0068.

Assistant Principal - Josh Leasure

Mr. Josh Leasure offers a fresh approach to creating a positive school environment that increases student attendance, student achievement, and graduation rates. He believes it is absolutely necessary to create a positive learning environment to increase student test scores and give students the opportunity to develop the essential social and emotional skills they will need to be productive members of our communities. Josh firmly believes the most important component to improving the school environment is building positive relationships with students. He earned a M.S. in Educational Administration from Franciscan University and a B.A. in History and Political Science from Mount Union College. Josh has dedicated himself to becoming a life-long educator and learner, and he strives to instill a similar desire in all of the students with whom he works. He can be contacted at josh.leasure@edisonwildcats.org or 740-282-0068.

Edison Extracurriculars

Athletics

Edison High School offers many athletic programs and features a brand new, state of the art Unified Sports Complex

The Arts

Edison High School is proud to offer many opportunities for the arts, including musicals, plays, band and choir performances and much more!

FFA

Edison High School is proud to support the Future Farmers of America, boasting many classes to promote students in not only farming, but all kinds of career pathways

College Credit Plus

Every student in the state of Ohio has the opportunity to earn college and high school credits at the same time by taking college courses from community colleges and universities for FREE through the College Credit Plus program.

In many districts around the state, students have to leave the comforts of their high school classroom behind for unfamiliar setting of a college classroom. That’s not the case, however, for students in the Edison Local School District.

Thanks to the efforts and vision of six Edison High School staff members, Wildcats no longer have to leave campus to earn college credits! Derek Gulling, Jamie Evans, Bill Koehnlein, Angela Arbogast, Megan Evans, Jessica McAllister and Ellen Swickard received additional training and education to earn the status of adjunct professors. These six teachers make it possible for Wildcats to earn college credits and accumulate large savings in college tuition costs.

Additionally, students have the opportunity to earn college credits through the Jefferson County Joint Vocational School. Regardless of the path, the Edison Local School District is committed to helping Wildcats embrace excellence and achieve success in all aspects of their lives.

A Message from Mr. Morrison

Dear Wildcat Parents and Students,

It is a privilege to serve Edison High School and the Edison community as the principal of EHS.  I consider it an honor to have the opportunity to lead a school with such a longstanding history in academics, athletics and the fine arts.  The privilege of working with such a talented and dedicated faculty and staff, a tremendous student body, and a supportive network of parents and community members will only help push Edison High School towards new heights. 

The teachers, staff and administration at Edison High School are committed to providing a high quality education, along with relevant extracurricular opportunities, that will prepare our students for tomorrow for employment, enlistment, and enrollment . Each educator is student-centered and has been challenged to engage students and provide optimal learning environments.  As your principal, I hope each and every student to take full advantage of all that is offered here at EHS so that you can make your high school life successful, enjoyable, and most importantly, meaningful.  

We are excited that our students can finally take advantage of their new 1,300 seat gymnasium that includes a complete fitness center and in-door walking track. We look forward to watching our student-athletes complete this fall in cross country, golf, football, soccer, and volleyball. We cannot wait to watch our marching band perform on Friday nights and our Choir/Fine Arts Program perform on our new outdoor amphitheater in front of our newly revitalized mural displaying our proud traditions at Jefferson Union, Springfield and Stanton.  

I truly believe that every student on this campus has the ability and the potential to accomplish great things!  Beginning with the first days of school, I ask each of you to begin developing, displaying and honing our three expectations and WIldcat Pride that will help lay the foundation for your future successes.

Please take the time to review this handbook carefully. It contains important information that will help guide you through the expectations we have for you as an Edison High student. I also want to remind you that your teachers, counselors, and administrators are available to provide assistance – your questions and concerns are always welcome.

As you work through your years at EHS, I want each of you to set goals and standards that will be above those set by most high school students. Your time at EHS is foundational to your future success, and we are confident about the positive impact each of our students will make in the community. 

I look forward to the challenges of tomorrow and, with that, I am excited about the future of Edison High School.  Together we will continue to move forward and find new ways to achieve academic greatness, further instill and inspire Wildcat Pride and traditions, and create lasting high school memories.  As we begin the school year, we expect that each of you will be instrumental in helping EHS continue its tradition of academic and athletic excellence. 

Sincerely,

Matthew Morrison
Principal 

The Arts in Edison

Many people believe that the arts are leaving the curriculum of many public school districts today. That belief couldn’t be farther from the truth in the Edison Local Schools.

The Edison Local School District is proud to offer a diverse selection of visual and performing arts programs for students. From the always popular Edison High School Marching Band to Elementary School musical performances, the Edison Board of Education believes the arts are a critical component to ensuring every Edison student receives an individualized educational experience that is personalized to the student’s strengths and abilities.

 

Edison Arts Leaders

Gregory Hofmeister

gregory.hofmeister@edisonwildcats.org

Mr. Gregory Hofmeister is in his second year of teaching as the 7-12 Edison Director of Vocal Music. Mr. Hofmeister attended Canton McKinley Senior High School, where he developed his passion for music and the fine arts. Mr. Hofmeister pursued Music Education and Vocal Performance at Ohio University and earned his Bachelors of Music from Youngstown State University in 2020.

At Edison, Mr. Hofmeister teaches five choirs, assists the band, coaches soccer, and coordinates the caring counsel. Mr. Hofmeister had his directorial debut with The Sound of Music and Matilda Jr. in 2021. Currently working on Mary Poppins Jr. for the first weekend in March. He programmed the second annual Vocal Clinic in October, which included a guest clinician to help the choirs. In November, the choirs have a 7-12 Veterans Day Tribute concert in addition to the assembly. A Capella Choir toured the district and will perform various outreach concerts in 2023. His 7-12th grade choir members participated in OMEA Solo and Ensemble with over 25 students earning Superior and Excellent ratings. This February, the Vocal Music Department will have its first annual International Music Concert featuring music from more than ten languages. March is “Music in Our Schools Month” and we will have a talent show for the entire school and charge a $2 entry to raise money for the fine arts. In May, the choirs will finish the year with selections for Broadway Musicals, Pop Music, and additional artists.

Marc Sansone

marc.sansone@edisonwildcats.org

Marc Sansone is the Edison band director.

David Schultz

david.schultz@edisonwildcats.org

Mr. David Schultz is the Drama Club Director and has brought back the Thespians Troupe to Edison. His play will take place in late March. 

Edison FFA

FFA is an intracurricular student organization for those interested in agriculture and leadership. It is one of the three components of agricultural education.

What do the letters FFA stand for?

The official name of the organization is the National FFA Organization.

The letters “FFA” stand for Future Farmers of America. These letters are a part of our history and our heritage that will never change. But FFA is not just for students who want to be production farmers; FFA also welcomes members who aspire to careers as teachers, doctors, scientists, business owners and more. For this reason, the name of the organization was updated in 1988 after a vote of national convention delegates to reflect the growing diversity and new opportunities in the industry of agriculture.

FFA Leadership

Chuck Cline

chuck.cline@edisonwildcats.org

Mr. Chuck Cline is our Agricultural Education teacher.

Edison High School Staff

Office Staff

Matt Morrison

Position: Principal
Email: matt.morrison@edisonwildcats.org

Joshua Leasure

Position: Assistant Principal 
Email: josh.leasure@edisonwildcats.org

Leah Eft

Position: Career Pathways Specialist 
Email:  leah.eft@edisonwildcats.org

Chandler Hoppel

Position: Guidance Counselor
Email: chandler.hoppel@edisonwildcats.org

Karen Crawford

Position: Guidance Counselor
Email: karen.crawford@edisonwildcats.org

Jenna Kuntz

Position: Nurse
Email: jenna.kuntz@edisonwildcats.org

Deputy Ben Swoyer

Position: School Resource Officer
Email: ben.swoyer@edisonwildcats.org

Susan Pytash

Position: Secretary
Email: susan.pytash@edisonwildcats.org

Cheryl Woodward

Position: Secretary
Email: cheryl.woodward@edisonwildcats.org

Heather Call-Booth

Position: Guidance Secretary
Email: heather.call@edisonwildcats.org

English-Language Arts

Dawn Cable

Position: Grade 7/8 Language Arts
Email: dawn.cable@edisonwildcats.org

Stefanie Kuca

Position: Grade 8/10 Language Arts
Email: stefanie.kuca@edisonwildcats.org

Monica Potenzini

Position: Grade 7/8 Language Arts
Email: monica.potenzini@edisonwildcats.org

Kristina Turk

Position: Grade 9/11 English
Email: kristina.turk@edisonwildcats.org

Jamie Evans

Position: English 12/Media
Email: james.evans@edisonwildcats.org

Math

Amy Bordash

Position: Grade 7/Algebra I
Email: amy.bordash@edisonwildcats.org

Nate Moses

Position: Grade 7/8 Math
Email: nate.moses@edisonwildcats.org

Jessica McCallister

Position: Geometry, Calculus 
Email: jessica.mccallister@edisonwildcats.org

Greg Marsh

Position: Grade 7/8 Math
Email: greg.marsh@edisonwildcats.org

Derek Gulling

Position: Algebra II, Pre-Calculus
Email: derek.gulling@edisonwildcats.org

Science

Megan Evans

Position: Life Science
Email: megan.evans@edisonwildcats.org

Jeremy Matics

Position: Grade 8, Physical Science
Email: jeremy.matics@edisonwildcats.org

Caitlin Schultz

Position: Grade 7 Science
Email: caitlin.schultz@edisonwildcats.org

Joann Stigani

Position: Anatomy/Physiology
Email: joann.stigani@edisonwildcats.org

Ellen Swickard

Position: Chemistry/Physics
Email: ellen.swickard@edisonwildcats.org

Jordan Tice

Position: Physical Science
Email: jordan.tice@edisonwildcats.org

Social Studies

Paul Baker

Position: SS Electives
Email: paul.baker@edisonwildcats.org

Bill Koehnlein

Position: History
Email: william.koehnlein@edisonwildcats.org

Andy Lesnansky

Position: US History / JH SS
Email: andrew.lesnansky@edisonwildcats.org

David Schultz

Position: Government/Economics
Email: david.shultz@edisonwildcats.org

Caitlin Schultz

Position: Grade 8 SS
Email: caitlin.schultz@edisonwildcats.org

Kodi Peterson

Position: Grade 7 SS
Email: kodi.peterson@edisonwildcats.org

Specials

Angela Arbogast

Position: Spanish 1, 2, 3 and 4
Email: angela.arbogast@edisonwildcats.org

Spencer Bendle

Position: Physical Education 7-12
Email: spencer.bendle@edisonwildcats.org

Chuck Cline

Position: Ag Education
Email: chuck.cline@edisonwildcats.org

Gregory Hofmeister

Position: Choir
Email: gregory.hofmeister@edisonwildcats.org

Danah Beaver

Position: Art
Email: danah.beaver@edisonwildcats.org

Emily Waggoner

Position: Computer Science
Email: emily.waggoner@edisonwildcats.org

Nolan Marcus

Position: Weightlifting/Health
Email: nolan.marcus@edisonwildcats.org

Marc Sansone

Position: Instrumental Music
Email: marc.sansone@edisonwildcats.org

Nick Howell

Position: Title Teacher
Email: nick.howell@edisonwildcats.org

Mark Smyth

Position: ECAT
Email: mark.smyth@edisonwildcats.org

Kodi Peterson

Position: In School Suspension
Email: kodi.peterson@edisonwildcats.org

Intervention Specialists

Mike Collopy

Position: Intervention Specialist
Email: michael.collopy@edisonwildcats.org

Jason Ensinger

Position: Intervention Specialist
Email: jason.ensinger@edisonwildcats.org

Ron Ferrell

Position: Intervention Specialist
Email: ron.ferrell@edisonwildcats.org

Faith Gump

Position: Intervention Specialist
Email: faith.gump@edisonwildcats.org

Beverly Sansone

Position: Intervention Specialist
Email: beverly.sansone@edisonwildcats.org

Nate Kline

Position: Intervention Specialist
Email: nathaneal.kline@edisonwildcats.org

George Ash

Position: Intervention Specialist
Email: george.ash@edisonwildcats.org

Paraprofessionals

Sheri Cronin

Kathy Gill

Position: 
Email: kathy.gill@edisonwildcats.org

Joanne Johnston

Food Services

Diana Antill

Position:  Head Cook
Email: diana.antill@edisonwildcats.org

Pam Collins

Position: Cook
Email: pam.collins@edisonwildcats.org

Christine Springer

Tracy Vincenzo

Position: Cook
Email: tracy.vincenzo@edisonwildcats.org

Custodians

Bill Goddard

Position: Custodian
Email: bill.goddard@edisonwildcats.org

Matthew Herrick

Position: Custodian
Email: mathew.herrick@edisonwildcats.org

Doug Lucsko

Position: Custodian
Email: doug.lucsko@edisonwildcats.org

Jerry Matics

Position: Custodian
Email: jerry.matics@edisonwildcats.org

Angel Nave

Position: Custodian
Email: angel.nave@edisonwildcats.org